Great American Clean Up, Week Two

Week2_2110One of the neighborhoods along Newsom Station Road, Lexington Point, has contacted me about helping to clean up this stretch of road. Hopefully, we’ll have a group clean up on April 17 or April 24.

Today, one woman (me) with one bag (in photo) cleaned up the area that is above Beech Creek. The trash eventually washes down into the creek which flows into the Harpeth River, where I get my drinking water.

Most of what I picked up is  not recyclable. I picked up a faux leather cell phone holder, a pair of socks (one was on each side of the road), lots of plastic grocery bags, styrofoam cups from fast food outlets, lots of paper and food containers, etc. The most common item I found today was one-serving salad dressing cups. I bet I found 20 of them. Some were empty; some were full. I also found a full bottle of beer.

Russell, I found several illegals signs. Most were for lost dogs, found cats or garage sales. All of which had disintegrated. Only the roofing sign (in photo) survived intact, but mostly buried in the ground.

Leave a Reply

