Stay Hydrated, but Do Not Litter

PlasticBottle_1013I first noticed it last summer during my daily walks: more plastic water bottles and soda cans on the residential streets in my suburban subdivision. These are not drive-by litter. I assume that the bottles and cans are being tossed in the street by out of school youth playing in the summer heat.

Growing up during the late 50s and 60s, I had to come inside for Kool-Aid or water from a glass. When I bought a soda from a gas station cooler, it was glass and returned for a deposit. I do not long for those days, but I am tired of picking up discarded water and soda bottles/cans in my neighborhood. Recycle them. Reuse them.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Greetings,

    My name is Barbara O’ Brien and my blogging at The Mahablog, Crooks and Liars, AlterNet, and elsewhere on the progressive environmental and political blogophere has earned me the notoriety of being a panelist at the Yearly Kos Convention and a featured guest blogger at the Take Back America Conference in Washington, DC.

    I’m contacting you to tell you about my newest blogging platform —the environmental concern of Asbestos Litigation Blog at http://www.maacenter.org/blog —where I am looking at critical issues in new light. Our shared concerns include asbestos contamination of the environment, but they also include corporate accountability, consumer product safety, environmentally safe workplaces, and green public policies.

    So drop by for a visit at http://www.maacenter.org. Give us a link on your site to help spread this important information. Blogroll us, and we’ll blogroll you back. I’m also available for guest blogging on your site. Please contact me back, I hope to hear from you soon.

    Thanks,

    Barbara O’Brien
    barbaraobrien@maacenter.org

  2. 3

    Tomas Bosque said,

    Great ideas! We too are trying to spread the message about the harmful effects plastic bottles have on our environment. Keep up the great posts!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

