Storm Drains Are Not Trash Cans

illegaldumping_1536I was appalled this morning when I left my house for a morning run and found my storm drain filled with what I thought was paint. Later, my husband confronted the contractor working on the house across the street about this eco-deadly mess.

It is dry wall spackling. My husband admonished the contractor who “cleaned” up the mess from the top of the drain. When I took the dog for an afternoon walk, I looked into the storm drain and found it full of this hazardous substance.

This is the time of year that frogs hatch in our streams. These frogs will not survive this year due to this mess. More rain is expected tonight, which will only wash the dry wall spackling further into the streams.

Oh, and I get my drinking water from these same streams.

Storm drains are not trash drains. They are for storm water only.

NP NowPublic

Tags: |

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    No-nable said,

    Thank You. Very Nice Site. 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

