My Dog Neyland

neyland_08051Many readers of this blog know my dog Neyland, who is over 12 years old. He woke us up this morning at 1:30 with a seizure. Neither of us knew what was happening to Neyland, but both my husband and I woke up about the same moment.

At first, I thought that he was having a stroke. Then I thought that he was dying.

I called the emergency pet clinic which is open all night in our city. The vet described exactly what he was going through and his reactions once he stopped shaking violently. She advised us to take him to the vet in the morning unless he had another seizure during the night.

Today Neyland was checked out and physically seems okay. His blood work returned normal results. His appetite is very good, and he knows his favorite words. He can also sit, stay and come on command. That is about all of his repertoire. It could be something serious such as brain tumor, kidney failure, etc., but both vets and the internet recommended a wait and see approach before we start meds for seizures. Since he is cognizant and aware, the chance of a brain tumor is less than it could be.

Please keep him in your thoughts.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Megan said,

    Oh no, Barbara, I’m so sorry to hear that. But I’m glad he checked out OK. I’ll be thinking about y’all!!

  2. 2

    Lisa said,

    You guys will be in my thoughts and prayers!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

