Cigarette Butts are Litter

Here is a letter I saw on pantagraph.com. It’s written by a high school Beta Club member about litter left behind after the Extreme Makeover Home Edition folks had done their jobs:

It is no doubt that the people of “Extreme Makeover Home Edition” do amazing things for families that need a miracle. But as a volunteer with my school’s Beta Club, I was disappointed with what I saw.

Our job was to pick up leftover trash in the area surrounding home, and we did our job. The majority of the trash that we saw in the neighborhood surrounding the newly built home was cigarette butts. By the end of the day, the smell of the cigarettes had soaked into my clothing.

I appreciate the hard work that was put into the project, but feel that the neighborhood deserved more respect. I understand that they need all the help they can find for projects as large and time consuming as building a house. However, I believe that a designated smoking area would be better for their cause.

Elizabeth Sydney

Mackinaw

Leave a Reply

