Living on Borrowed Land

A neighbor approached me Sunday about why he no longer sees deer in his yard. According to him, when the privacy fence was constructed along the railroad tracks through the Riverwalk subdivision, deer were blocked from traveling to and from the river. Deer can jump over the picket fence along the property but can’t jump over the higher privacy fence.

He proposed that part of the privacy fence, not around houses, be removed. Then the deer could go back and forth to the river as they used to do. I suspect that the privacy fence was built for two reasons. One, as a barrier to railroad noises and two, to keep hoboes away from homeowners’ properties. I doubt the homeowners would agree to do this.

I know that I live on land formerly occupied by the American Indians. Often I feel guilty about that. My house is also on property that once housed a plantation with slaves. I’m glad that human slavery is no longer an issue in the United States. I also regret that I’m living on land that deer and other wildlife used.

Before the construction was completed, we had lots of wild blackberry plants in the area. I miss sampling the wild blackberries, and I’m sure the deer and rabbits also miss them.

I wish that the subdivisions of Boone Trace, Lexington Point and Riverwalk had been better constructed around the existing land. I wish that we were friendlier to wildlife.

While I hold a deed to the property around my hosue, I don’t really own it. I’m only borrowing it for a while.

Leave a Reply

