What to Do with a Discarded Cell Phone

I waited forever to buy my first cell phone. During the mid-90s, I got stranded away from home in a surprise, Nashville-paralyzing snowstorm and decided that a cell phone would be a handy tool to have after all. I could have kept in touch with my spouse during my four-hour slide home.

Now, I don’t own a landline phone. I know that I have been through at least five cell phones since I bought that first one. The average life of a cell phone is 1.5 years, but I probably keep mine 2-3 years. I’m not into the latest and greatest as you can see from my current cell phone at left.

If you have a drawer full of old cell phones, here’s a link to the Keep America Beautiful Wipe Out Wireless Waste site. I’ve always donated mine to organizations that can reuse them or recycle them. Let’s keep them out of the landfills and the waterways.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    lifecell said,

    There are many programs to donate and recycle old cell phones and other electronics. You can also give them to your local Good Will too I suppose.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

