Cigarette Litter Prevention Program

While this blog primarily points out the ugliness of litter, I try to promote its prevention, too. The day I photographed this cigarette butt on the side of the street, I found at least a dozen butts within a tenth of a mile. And this is a residential street, where children feel safe enough to ride their bicycles and skateboards.

Cigarette butts and smoking have always bothered me. I remember the blue fog that engulfed our living room as a child, as Daddy puffed the evening away and watched television.

In college, I decided to take up smoking during a dorm drinkfest. I bought a pack of cigarettes, which took me two weeks to finish. I detested the smell on my fingers and body. I had tried the cigs as a child either sampling a butt or stealing a cigarette out of a pack Daddy left at home. Fortunately, I hated it and never developed the habit.

Recently at the Keep America Beautiful affiliates conference in Atlanta, I learned about the Cigarette Litter Prevention Program from Bronwen Evans, a program manager for KAB.

Since cigarette smoking has been banned from most public buildings (YEAH!), more butts are being tossed on the ground. The KAB encourages businesses to put butt disposal receptacles in front of their businesses. When a neighborhood or downtown area has receptacles, the number of butts carelessly tossed on the streets is reduced.

I can’t decide if I like the items at left or not. These are portable cigarette ashtrays that the KAB hands out to smokers. I hope smokers use them. About the size of a child’s change purse, the ashtray should hold two or three butts.

I’m going to take the two that I brought back from the conference and give them to smokers in the office building where I work. The official smoking area is on Parking Level Seven, a place I’ve never before ventured. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Ricky AUDAIN said,

    At ButtLess we supply Airtight Peronal / Portable Ashtrays to corporations,
    environmental organisations, city councils and county governors who wish to sponsor anti-cigarette litter campaigns
    in their areas. ButtLess have proven to be very popular in counties across the US and Europe, we are currently
    working on initiatives with cities in Florida, Tennessee, Ohio and New York. Visit our website http://www.buttless.org

    Our ashtrays are available in multiples of 320 units and include free shipping UK to USA

  2. 2

    Hi..

    We have designed and Patented a brand new approach to cigarette and chewing gum litter control. We have just won a pan European Red Dot product Design Award 2008 and our Smartstreets-Smartbin has now been adopted by over 35 Councils across Europe.

    If you are interested to see what we are doing and find out why our approach is working extremely well in cities across Europe please visit http://www.smartstreets.eu and http://www.smartstreets.co.uk

    Our litter bins are made from recycled aluminium and stainless steel and reduce clutter by wrapping around existing street furniture such as lamp-posts and sign-posts (as well as fixing onto walls and railings) – making it a sustainable solution to a very messy, damaging litter problem.

    We hope to be appearing in a city near you soon .. and that cigarette and gum litter will be reduced as a result to everyone’s benefit.

    Thank you for your interest – from all at Smartstreets Ltd, London, UK +44 (0)20 8742 3223 sales@smartstreets.co.uk


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

